My Zany Bookshelf: Tear-Jerking Book Recommendations

Who else loves a good sad book?

When I am feeling down, I like to read a book I know will make me cry. It helps me let go of my emotions as well as give me perspective. I also think there are some wonderful lessons to be learned from some of the books that make us cry.

Without further ado, here a few books I own, have read, cried over and recommend!

A Dog’s Purpose – W. Bruce Cameron

Who here loves their dog? I know I do! My family has had four dogs in my lifetime including our current dog, Charlee. So, if you are a fellow dog-loving bookworm I completely recommend this book with a side of tissues.
I read this during the dog-free period of our lives and my heart broke over and over again. Our previous dog, Rosie, had been my best friend for years and losing her was one of the most difficult things I have ever experienced. Although it was an emotional rollercoaster, this book gave me hope that my Rosie is not gone forever. In the meantime, my Charlee will be spoiled because a girl’s best friend deserves nothing but the best!

A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness

Anyone who reads this book and does not cry is cold-hearted. This is a painful read given the topics it covers (loss of a loved one, bullying, feeling alone, etc.) but it is also extremely beautiful. I think this one shows how difficult it can be for a child experiencing these misfortunes and perhaps may give older readers an idea of how children feel when they are in those situations. 110% recommend tissues, specifically for the end.

A Thousand Perfect Notes – C.G. Drews

As with the last one, this is difficult emotionally given what the MC has to endure and that ending will have any with a heart in tears. However, there is also beauty in this story that makes the heartache worth the read. Friendship and love are powerful forces.

Second Chance Summer – Morgan Matson

This one is not an entirely sad book, but the MC’s dad has cancer and does not seem to be improving. I am fairly sure you can imagine where that storyline is heading. What makes me recommend this read is the MC flaws and how she handles different situations. All of us have the ability to make poor decisions when we are emotional and even more so when we had those lovely teenage hormones but what matters is how you deal with them.

Talk to me!
Do you like reading books that make you cry?
If so, what are some of your tear-jerking recommendations?
Let me know in the comments as I would love to add some more tear-jerkers to my collection!

Until next time bibliophiles!

Amy x



9 responses to “My Zany Bookshelf: Tear-Jerking Book Recommendations”

  1. I want to read both of CG Drews books. I love her book blog Paper Fury

    Liked by 1 person

  2. No sad books… I am already crying too much due to personal problems… I want humor now 💖

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh no! I hope things get better soon ❤ but message me if you need someone to talk to! I will have to create a comedy list next!

      Like

      1. Please create a comedy list… I have the flu on top of Lost friendship

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh no! I am so sorry to hear that ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  3. […] There was also another My Zany Bookshelf! This time I formed a list of books that reside on my bookshelves and that I would recommend if you are looking for a tear-jerking read! […]

    Like

  4. […] time I shared some of my tear-jerking recommendations. This week, as requested by Shalini, we have a more cheerful […]

    Like

  5. Oh man I Have read so many emotional books over the years, and I’m such an emotional reader that it doesn’t take much to make me cry!Lenny’s Book of Everything was a great one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I will have to check it out!

      Like

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com